Review: Masters of Illusion (DS)

This next trick requires a volunteer from the audience. I want you to think of a number between 1 and 3. Is it 2? It is?! No, no my good man; I’m not a professional. I learned all I know about magic from the Masters of Illusion!

Masters of Illusion is a unique game for the Nintendo DS, that acts as your “lovely assistant” for preforming magic tricks. It’s a strange game where most of the action takes place when you’re not even holding the DS. The game uses all of the systems features in cool ways. As the title indicates the “Illusions” are taught to you before you preform them. While it is against the Magicians code for me to reveal how each trick works, I can reveal that some tricks use the DS Microphone, while others use secret button presses. If you don’t have an audience to preform tricks to, fear not! You can still don a Magicians tophat with single player tricks.

The game comes with a deck of cards which are used for certain tricks (both for Magic Show’s and Single Player tricks). The cards hold secrets of their own, which add’s another level to the magic. By performing tricks you gain magic points which are used to unlock more tricks.

I’ve enjoyed showing the tricks to people, and I’ve started taking my DS with me to places I normally wouldn’t should the chance to do some magic present itself. This game really shows how social a game (on a handheld no less) can be. I recommend checking it out if you want a reason to show your Nintendo DS off to people, or of course if you believe in magic in a young girls heart.

Check the Masters of Illusion’s site for more information!

KLind

Leave a Reply

