Xbox 360 Arcade Pack on Sale Now! Still Unannounced…

First we saw rumors of the Xbox 360 Arcade pack mentioned in the press, which were soon followed by links to Amazon’s preorder page. Now the pack is showing up on certain store shelves. Next step would be for Microsoft to announce the product…

Joystiq has some more specific details about the bundle. Along with the 256MB Memory Unit, Wireless Controller, and HDMI port, the disc that was previously thought to contain full games, instead contains trials of Boom Boom Rocket, Feeding Frenzy, Luxor 2, Pac-Man Championship, and Uno. That’s right, they’re not the full versions. YOu have to buy those separate.

Other things you won’t be getting with the bundle are: XBL Headset, Ethernet Cable, HDMI cable, HD Component cables. Also the Joystiq tipster reports that the Amazon listing of 279.99 is actually 299.99.

Not sure how good of a deal this is due to lack of cables and a useful amount of memory, but I guess this is no longer a rumor…

KLind

2 thoughts on “Xbox 360 Arcade Pack on Sale Now! Still Unannounced…

  1. First! I kid..I kid. So this is your legendary blog, eh? Not bad. I’ll check it out from time to time. It’s nice to see that Microsoft is attempting to get more main stream costumers, but will this really work? I mean, lets say a nice main-stream consumer buys this bad boy, sets it up, gets intrigued by Xbox Live and decides to play Uno. What are they going to think when they see some dude’s balls flopping all over the place, or hear some nice ‘ol racial slurs? I’m a pretty hardcore gamer, and when I even hear of stuff like that, even I get discouraged. (I don’t personally have Uno, but I have saw my buddies play Uno and…yeah)

    What Microsoft could do to counter all that BS is really enforce your “gamerzone”. Keep Pros playing with strictly Pros, keep “Family” playing with strictly “Family”, etc., etc. Making exceptions, only when you play with people who is on your friends list. Of course, you could run into problems with doing it this way. For example, what if there’s no other people with the gamerzone “family” playing a specific game? I guess they could make it so Xbox live searches the next most relative gamerzone… like if you’re family, and Xbox Live can’t find any other family players, then search for “recreation” players.

    The price point seems appeasing enough, but it seems like a dumb move to not include some HD cables. Whether it’s HDMI cables and/or Component cables. Also not including an Ethernet cable is pretty dumb. I don’t know, I feel I’m ragging on it too much here. We’ll see how it plays out, but I don’t think it’s a good deal.

  2. Pingback: Xbox 360 Arcade Pack on Sale Now! Still Unannounced…

Leave a Reply

